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Tips for making your Pay Per Click (PPC) campaigns more profitable


When it comes to marketing your business, entrepreneurs have a handful of options. Most of these options require time to show results but they are still affordable ways of attracting customer.


Instead of using those cost-effective methods of advertising, 70 per cent of the business owners prefer PPC campaigns. It is not surprising at all as 64.6 per cent of the consumers click on Google ads when they are shopping online. Another benefit of using PPC is that it drives immediate results. If the PPC campaigns are crafted strategically, they provide web traffic, leads, and customers.


PPC campaigns are a little complex and they require rigorous planning but we are here to help. If you want to make your PPC campaigns profitable, these are some of the tips you must stick to:


Establish the budget for the campaign


It is no brainer, PPC marketing is paid advertising. Before starting a campaign, you need to set a budget. Cost of the budget is determined by the number of clicks on your PPC and Cost Per Click of your ad.


Nobody wants to spend more than their budget. Fortunately, you can make sure you don’t go overboard by specifying your monthly or daily budgets. Go to the budget Settings on your AdWords account and from there you can set the budget you want. Once you have an estimated budget, you can focus on other aspects of the campaigns.


Set the stage


Once you are clear about your budget, you must determine the size and scope of your account. For that, the first thing you have to do is determine how many clicks you are likely to receive per day. Suppose your monthly budget is $2,000 and the average CPC is $2.50 and you will get 800 clicks per months. You will be getting 26 clicks per day and your daily budget would be $66.


Depending on what platform you are using for your PPC campaigns, the daily budget might increase to maximize the click. To make sure you stay on track, the monthly budget should not exceed the daily number of days set.

Use the right keywords


It is not recommended to use generic keywords. When the volume is high and the keywords are competitive as well, it can put a dent in your budget. Therefore, look for long and unique keywords to make sure you are on a small budget.


Use your Google Analytics account to find long-tail keywords. You can also use Google’s keyword planner to find keywords. Once the keywords are ready, now you have to determine what type of searches you want your ads to appear. These are the 3 types:


  1. Broad matching: Ads appear whenever an individual searches for keywords used by you.

  2. Phrase matching: For this query, the term must match how the keyword group are arranged. It might appear in longer search terms with additional words before or after the search phrase. However, the words in the phrases must in the right order.

  3. Exact matching: It is the type of search query in which you want an exact match between the keyword group and the actual search term.


Negative keywords


Negative keywords can be useful at times. They help improve the quality score by getting rid of all the unnecessary traffic. They also help you control the ad spend.


Don’t hesitate by hearing the word negative. Negative keywords are similar to target keywords but they are irrelevant when it comes to advertising.


When the wrong visitor lands on your webpage, it increases bounce rate and AdWords consider the ad irrelevant. This decreases the quality score and increases the CPC. It might take some time to figure out which keywords won’t bring conversions.


Create a well-optimized landing page


Landing page is the place where you want your target visitors to go after they have clicked on the PPC ads. It is where the real action takes place. The visitor now has to decide whether they want to buy or subscribe to your product/service. This page could also be used for getting contact information from your visitors.


The purpose of a landing page is to solicit an action. It must have a good design and appropriate content that persuades the visitor to take action. It shouldn’t just be created to bring visitors, but convert them into leads.


Use ad extensions


Search ads are not enough for sending a message. You can add more value to your ads by using ad extensions using different CTAs. Call out extensions are recommended to add a value statement, review extensions are used for pulling reviews from your landing page and offer a social proof whereas sitelink extensions are used adding additional links with CTAs.

Use these ad extensions for testing CTAs and how they help improve the Click Through Rate and conversion. In short, ad extensions can improve your overall AdWords campaign.


Leverage location tracking


There are plenty of reasons to use geotargeting. Since it is about local search, it helps minimize competition and lets you target people nearby. You can target individuals within the radius of your brick and mortar store. This increases the chances of getting clicks on your ads. You can also register your business for certain “near me” searches to come on top of the result in your local search pack.


Keep on reviewing the performance


Every campaign has its highs and lows. You need to narrow down the hours of each day that bring peak results. This will help you boost the performance of your campaign.

Along with that review, use the data of the campaign to get useful data about the online behaviour of your audience. Use this information whenever necessary to adjust your ads. This will bring a much higher ROI.


Summing up


PPC advertising can be intimidating when you are just starting out. It is no doubt a wonderful marketing technique to attract web traffic and increase conversion. It puts you in front of your audience.


If you think you need some help running your PPC campaigns, feel free to reach out to professionals from PPC Agency.

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